Purchase Your Tickets for ADL’s 2016 Civil Rights Awards Reception

  • December 29, 2015


Tickets are now available for the 2016 Civil Rights Awards Reception at www.adl.org/civilrights2016.  The Anti-Defamation League Mountain States Region will honor Leslie and Noel Ginsburg and Carlotta Walls LaNier for their work to advance educational access and opportunity for all students. The reception will take place from 5:30-7:00 p.m. on February 24, 2016 at the Denver Art Museum.


Leslie and Noel Ginsburg have dedicated their energy and financial resources to ensure that at-risk youth have equal access to educational opportunities.  Noel is a founding member and past President of the Colorado I Have A Dream Foundation, and Leslie, a board member since 2007, is the current Board Chair. Through the Foundation, the Ginsburgs have sponsored 42 inner-city children to help obtain a post-secondary education. In addition, Leslie was an active member of ADL’s Board.  Among other things, she co-chaired the Governor’s Holocaust Remembrance Program and Education Committee. Leslie has also served on the Board of the Colorado I Have A Dream Foundation.  Noel has been the Chair of JEWISHcolorado (formerly Allied Jewish Federation) and the Mile High United Way. He has also served as President of the Denver Public Schools Foundation and Colorado I Have A Dream Foundation.


Carlotta Walls LaNier is one of the Little Rock Nine. At age 14, Carlotta was the youngest of nine African-American students to integrate Central High School in Little Rock, Arkansas in 1957. She was the first black female to graduate from Central High School. In 1999, Carlotta and the other members of the Little Rock Nine were awarded the Congressional Gold Medal by President Bill Clinton. She is a Denver resident and president of the Little Rock Nine Foundation, a scholarship organization dedicated to ensuring equal access to education for African-American students.


The Mountain States Region has presented civil rights awards to 57 Coloradans since 1982.  Prior recipients include:  Judge Jim Carrigan, Gerald Quiat, Judge John Kane, Jr., Sheldon Steinhauser, Gary Lozow, Rabbi Steven Foster, the Reverend James Peters, Dottie Lamm, Jonathan Asher, Ken Salazar, Joyce Meskis, Tim Gill, Lucia Guzman, Hon. Federico Pena, Cleo Parker Robinson, Governor Bill Ritter, Jr., Artie Guerrero, Hon. Wilma Webb, Dr. Vincent Harding, Tim Sweeney and Patricia Barela Rivera.

This year’s event co-chairs are Pamela Hirschman, Greg Karsh, Elisa Moran and Holly Stein Sollod.

For more information, please visit www.adl.org/civilrights2016.